A Note From Our Outgoing Board President

It has been another exciting year for Beloit Meals on Wheels. I am amazed at the level of support we receive from the volunteers, staff, and our Board of Directors. Without this fine group of people, many seniors in the Beloit area would go hungry. Federal  funding continues to become a smaller portion of our budget every year. Because of this, it is even more important to increase our fundraising efforts. We continue to receive outstanding support from the community. Kerry Americas, Robert Morse Foundation, and Hormel have become major funders. We also received another large grant from MOWAA through the Subaru Share the Love Campaign. This year’s March for Meals was the biggest ever. The Bowling to Strike out Hunger was very successful, and this year Walgreen’s approached us about selling Shamrocks for us with a goal of raising $5.000. I don’t believe anyone but the Walgreen’s employees thought that was possible. They did indeed exceed that goal. Mushing for Meals continues to grow and we surpassed last year’s event. This year we added a 10K event which brought in many new runners from the Rockford Road Runners group. I would like to thank all of the business that ran in-house campaigns to raise funds for us or allowed us or allowed us to come into their businesses to sell raffle tickets.

We also started our new website this year; thanks to Therese and Tyler Oldenburg for their help in getting this done.

On a sad note, Marcy informed the board that she would be retiring in the not too distant future, and so the personnel committee, under the leadership of Brenda Ortberg, began a succession plan.  After many months and with the help of two volunteers, we were able to announce at the end of April we were ready for when the time came. In May, Marcy submitted her letter of resignation effective the end of this year. Marcy, we thank you for your 25 years of service making this program so successful. Thank you also for giving us plenty of time to get this plan put together, but then we would expect nothing less from you!

– Larry Kane 2013-14 Board President